Tags

[I realized I should start moving over posts from my pretty much defunct, but also rarely used LiveJournal. So here is something from May 19th, 2011… which explains a bit about spiral edging. I have more research on the Skypstrup find now, but need to dig it out after the move.]

While cruising the web, I found a bit about a blouse found in Skydstrup, Denmark, and dated to 1300-1500 BC. What makes this extra cool, is that it seems to be embellished with a braided type of nalbinding (so nalbinding onto woven material, which was also done with gold thread in the much later Viking era; need to research that more). So far I can only find references to it, with crappy pictures of an early reconstruction. Then I stumbled across a Finnish blog where it looks like she’s applied the same finish to a hat (hibernaatio.blogspot.com/2011/01/uusi-vuosi-uudet-vesivarit-ja.html). Apparently they were selling hats like this at the Saltvik Viking Market in Finland (July every year). Pretty sure it all goes back to the Skydstrup-type finish.

So I whipped up a hat to try it out. This is in Fisherman’s wool, Mammen stitch with F2 connections. The colored edge is in Paton’s. An easy 3-evening project.

Made it long enough to cover the ears.

Here’s a close-up of the stitch. The middle of the top row shows where I started and ended the embellishment. I think I did a decent job there. The bottom shows the back side of the stitch. Mammen is reversible, but there is a slight difference in how it looks where the colored yarn connects to the cream yarn.

How this is accomplished:

You really want to do both colors simultaneously, with two needles and such. Much easier to wrap the colors around each other. What’s going on here is 4 stitches connected to the previous row in green, 4 stitches then without connections, wrap that set around the brown and do the next 4 stitches with connections to the previous row. And then the same for the brown. The colors take turns connecting to the previous row and then wrapping around each other.

I made the hat a little longer so that it could also be folded up, which is comfy and cute. I think the edges will lie down a bit better once its washed and dried and such.

[As a note from 2014, I have since felted this hat. It turned out really soft and the edging still looks great- and definitely didn’t shrink any more than the rest of the hat.]
